Sign InView Entries

Some facts about the Dominican Republic

Capital: Santo Domingo de Guzman

Population: 10,960,261 (Oct 2018 est.)

Puerto Plata: 286,558 (2012)

Puerto Plata Nickname: La Novia del Atlantico 

Area: 509.01 km2 (196.53 sq mi)

Currency: Dominican peso ($1 = 49 DP)

Independence: February 27, 1844

Government: Democratic Republic

Official Language: Spanish

Official Religion: Roman Catholic (95%), Other (5%)

Ethnic groups: mixed 73%, white 16%, black 11%

The Dominican Republic was the first colony founded by Christopher Columbus.

The island was named "La Hispaniola" in colonial times.

The Dominican Republic shares the island with Haiti.

Baseball is the Dominican Republic’s national sport.